Can You Borrow a Laptop From the Library? Take-Home and In-Library Rules

✓ Last Updated: September 2026 | Checked against official sources by Mustafa Bilgic, Operator

Yes, many public libraries lend laptops or Chromebooks, but the loans come in two kinds. Some let you take one home for weeks, such as Detroit for 90 days or Kansas City for 120 days. Others lend them only inside the building, for 45 minutes to all day. Who can borrow varies too: several take-home programs are for adults, and some are for local residents only. The finder below shows the rules at 12 library systems and counts your due date.

Library laptop loan finder

Pick a library, what you need and the borrower's age. The finder shows the matching loan, who can borrow and the return rules, from each library's own page. Then count your due date.

Your answer will show here.

Due date checker

Uses the library and loan type above. For in-library loans, add the time you checked the laptop out.

Your due date will show here.

Laptop and Chromebook loans by library

These are the programs we confirmed on each library's own page. Eight systems lend a laptop or Chromebook to take home, and six lend one for use inside the building; Miami-Dade and San Diego do both.

LibraryLoan typeHow longWho can borrow
LA County LibraryIn the library2 hours, inside the libraryAdult card in good standing
The Seattle Public LibraryIn the library2 hours, some branchesNot stated
Chicago Public LibraryIn the library1-hour sessions, up to 2 a dayCard plus government or student ID
The New York Public LibraryIn the library45 minutesNot stated
Miami-Dade Public Library SystemTake home30 days, no auto-renewalLibrary card
Miami-Dade Public Library SystemIn the libraryAll day, inside the libraryLibrary card
Detroit Public LibraryTake home90 daysAdult card; Detroit or Highland Park residents
Fairfax County Public LibraryTake home14 days, no renewalCounty residents and reciprocal cardholders, 18+
Long Beach Public LibraryTake home3 weeks, up to 4 renewals18+, full-access card, fines under $20
Kansas City Public LibraryTake home120 days, no renewalNot stated
Enoch Pratt Free LibraryTake home12 weeks, up to 3 auto-renewals13 and older
San Diego Public Library (city)Take home30 daysNot stated
San Diego Public Library (city)In the library2 hoursNot stated
Boston Public LibraryTake home21 days, renewable if no waitlistAdults who lack equipment for their education

From each library's own page, read September 28, 2026 (Chicago, New York and Boston from Internet Archive copies made in May to September 2026). Not stated means the page we read gives no age or eligibility rule.

Taking a laptop home: how it works

Take-home programs work much like a hold on a popular book, with a few extra rules.

  • Reserve first. Detroit takes holds in person or by phone and tells you when the device is ready. Miami-Dade allows one hold per account and gives you seven business days to pick up. Fairfax and Long Beach take holds through the catalog, and Long Beach also by phone.
  • Kits often include internet. Fairfax's Connect Kit pairs a Chromebook with a hotspot, Long Beach lends a Chromebook, a MiFi hotspot or both, and Detroit and Miami-Dade lend hotspots alongside Chromebooks. For hotspot-only loans, see our guide to library Wi-Fi hotspots.
  • One at a time. Detroit, Fairfax, Kansas City, Pratt, San Diego and Miami-Dade let you borrow one laptop or Chromebook at a time.
  • Age and residency. Long Beach and Fairfax set 18 as the minimum age, Detroit asks for an adult card, and Enoch Pratt Free Library lends Chromebooks to anyone 13 or older. Detroit lends only to residents of Detroit or Highland Park, and Fairfax to county residents and reciprocal card holders. Miami-Dade verifies the address of eCard holders before a device goes out.
  • Need-based kits. Boston's Chromebook kits are for adults who lack the equipment or services they need for their education, and borrowing one confirms that.
  • Hand it to a person. Fairfax, Long Beach and Boston say not to use the book drop, and San Diego wants Chromebooks returned in person to a staff member. Fairfax wants the kit back at the branch you borrowed it from, and Long Beach suspends Tech To-Go borrowing for book drop returns.

Laptops you use inside the library

If you only need a computer for an hour or two, in-building loans are quicker. LA County Library's Laptop Express lends a Chromebook for up to 2 hours at participating locations, first-come, first-served, to adult cardholders in good standing. Seattle's FlexTech laptops, at some branches, go out for two hours at a time. Chicago Public Library lends laptops in one-hour sessions, up to two a day, and asks for your library card plus a government-issued or student ID. The New York Public Library lists wireless laptops for 45 minutes, in-library only.

Miami-Dade's in-library laptops last all day, but they shut down 30 minutes before the branch closes and must be back before closing. San Diego lends portable electronics in-house for 2 hours. None of these can leave the building, and Chicago says taking one out will be considered theft.

Late returns, fees and your files

Late laptops get switched off. Detroit makes an automated reminder call 3 days before the due date, and after it the laptop reboots and stops working. Fairfax deactivates the Chromebook and hotspot, Boston disables the Chromebook and puts a block on your card, and Long Beach may deactivate an overdue device.

Replacement costs are real money. Fairfax lists $600 for a Chromebook, $90 for a hotspot and $30 for the bag, plus a $1 a day late fee. Boston lists $300 for a Chromebook including parts, and Enoch Pratt Free Library $186 for a lost or damaged Chromebook with all pieces and the processing fee. Kansas City treats a Chromebook to Go kit as lost at 3 days overdue and bills the replacement cost, then removes the charge if the kit comes back. Long Beach bills the full replacement cost at 21 days overdue.

Your files do not stay. Fairfax sets up its Chromebooks with a Managed Guest Profile that deletes the websites you visited when a session ends, and warns that documents and history are removed when the Chromebook sleeps, restarts or shuts down. Chicago's laptops cannot save documents at all, so save to a flash drive or email files to yourself.

For more on computer time at the library, see our guides to library computer access and free computer classes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you borrow a laptop from the library?

Yes, at many public libraries. Detroit, Fairfax, Long Beach, Kansas City, Pratt, San Diego, Miami-Dade and Boston lend laptops or Chromebooks to take home, and LA County, Seattle, Chicago and New York lend them for use inside the library.

How long can you keep a library laptop?

At the libraries we checked, take-home loans run from 14 days at Fairfax County to 90 days at Detroit and 120 days at Kansas City. In-library loans run 45 minutes at the New York Public Library and 2 hours at LA County, Seattle and San Diego.

Do you need to be 18 to borrow a library laptop?

Often. Long Beach and Fairfax require borrowers to be 18, and Detroit and LA County ask for an adult card. Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore lends Chromebooks to anyone 13 or older.

Does it cost anything to borrow a library laptop?

Detroit says there is no charge to check one out, and Boston, Miami-Dade and LA County call their loans free. Lost or damaged devices are billed, though: Fairfax lists $600 for a Chromebook and Boston $300.

Can I return a library laptop in the book drop?

Usually not. Fairfax, Long Beach and Boston say not to use the book drop, San Diego wants Chromebooks handed to a staff member, and Long Beach suspends Tech To-Go borrowing for book drop returns.

What happens if I return a library laptop late?

It may stop working. Detroit's laptops reboot and become inoperable after the due date, Fairfax deactivates the kit, and Kansas City treats a Chromebook as lost after 3 days and bills the replacement cost.

Sources

Every rule, fee and figure on this page comes from the official page listed here. We read each one on September 28, 2026. The Chicago, New York Public Library and Boston sites block automated readers, so we read those pages from Internet Archive copies made on August 13, September 16 and May 19, 2026.